the journey to paid professional performing artist

Hello!  It’s taken a lot of consideration to start this blog.  All the typical worries.  I’ve finally decided to get started!

I’m writing this to hopefully help other dancers, actors, and performers on their journey. 

About a year ago I started in earnest to have a career dancing.  My dream is to be a Rockette, so I knew there were things I needed to do to make that happen.  Here are the steps I’ve taken so far:

1) resumed voice lessons: I was taking voice in high school, but stopped when I went to college.

2) danced more: I stopped teaching so much so I could take more classes.  I’ve also searched out many different schools and teachers so that I could get the training I need.  Often a school that is fabulous in ballet isn’t as good in tap, and vice versa.

3) auditioned as much as I could: I find this is hardest part of becoming a professional, and something I”ll write a lot about.

4) tried new things: If you look at my resume, I look like a bunhead.  Not exactly Rockette material, even though my favorite form of dance is tap.  In my area there is a ton of quality community theater, so lots of auditions to attend.  It also gave me a chance to sing more, not just dance.  Getting musicals doesn’t just look good on my resume, I’ve found another performing art that I love!  The more options the better, right?

So, in just a short time I have found out a lot about myself and a lot about the performing arts world.  Hopefully by sharing this I can help others trying to do the same thing.  It’s a hard thing to do.  You wouldn’t persevere unless you really enjoyed doing it.  At least we can commiserate together 🙂

Leave a Reply

