the journey to paid professional performing artist

try new things

I have held this belief for a while: there is a place for every performer in this world.

You may have to relocate and try new things in order to find your place.  But if you have the drive, you just have to find your niche.

Relocating is something we can’t always do, so that one is up to you.  But as far as new things, that’s something with which I have experience!

It’s been a little over a year since I’ve been trying in earnest to break into show biz.  I’m not old, but I’m competing with right-out-of-high-school kids.  I’ve also been performing a lot in ballet.  I like ballet, but tap is my favorite.  Ballet performing has just been more accessible to me, so I’ve done it.  So it was time to make my resume look more like the well-rounded dancer that I am.

For experience and resume building, I started going to every audition that I could.  Through a friend I found out about a local dance team audition.  I have never been the cheerleading type, but I had the day free, so I went.  And got in.  It ended up not being as professional as I had hoped it would be.  However, it taught me to dance in a totally different way.  Very sharp, which I hope will help me in my Rockette endeavors.  It was also more like hip hop, which is a dance form that I haven’t been exposed to very much.  But now I feel more comfortable dancing that style.

Auditions for musicals were scarier.  I’m still not very confident singing at an audition.  In grade school I was a good singer, took voice lessons and sang in the select choruses at my schools.  However, singing by myself is very nerve-wracking for me.  But I do it because the more you can do, the more marketable you are.

So I finally got into a musical, and thank goodness, it was with an absolutely wonderful organization.  It’s Theatre Harrisburg, and I have nothing but good things to say about them.  Even though it is community theater, the results are professional quality.  Anyway, good for me, I auditioned for a part without really knowing what the part entailed.  All I knew was that Gloria in Bye Bye Birdie was a tap dancing secretary.  Tap dancing, yea!!  Not so fast!  She has only one scene, but she has to talk.  And she has to dance, badly.  I was so nervous to do this, it was incredible.  But I don’t like to quit, so I did it.  And I’m so glad I did!  I loved playing a character so opposite from my personality.  And I got over talking on stage, for that show at least.

The thought of auditioning with song and reading still frightens me.  But now I’ve found a niche for myself.  I love musical theater now, and have a Theater that I love working with.  So even if I never make any money performing, at least I’ve found a place to find my fulfillment of performing.

And it’s all because I started trying new things.

Leave a Reply

