the journey to paid professional performing artist

audition lots?

It’s probably because I haven’t been doing this for that long, but I feel weird auditioning for lots of things that are running at the same time.

I did have a point in time this past year where I was doing three projects at once for one month.  It was crazy, but I made it work.  Though I also told myself I’d never do that again!

If I do audition for lots of things, I worry about having to make a choice if I get offered more than one thing.  Do I take the first thing I get offered?  Do I have the opportunity to wait a bit and see if something better gets offered to me?  I’ve never had this happen, so maybe I should just trust in fate that I will be offered the best part for me at this point in my career.

The other point is that the more auditions you do, supposedly the more comfortable you get auditioning.  Using that logic I would do every audition possible and worry about scheduling later.

A couple of things happened to me in the part few days to cause me to think about this.

First, I became aware of an opportunity to audition for a paying show pretty close to my home.  The Fulton in Lancaster, PA puts on professional shows and is a well-recognized theater.  They also audition in NYC.  I fear that because of that I don’t have much chance, but you have to be in it to win it!  The show is Sweeney Todd, and I think my best hope is for the chorus.  Which is fine with me, it gets me more experience and my foot in the door.  The audition also happens to fit into my rehearsal schedule right now, and I have an appropriate song I could sing for it.  Maybe it is fate?

Also, I’m meeting a bunch of great performers while I’m starting rehearsals for this show I’m currently in.  One of them is a very talented girl who lived in NYC for a short while and tried to get on Broadway.  She mentioned that she only tried to get the big gigs, and that she didn’t do many dance auditions because she got intimidated by the other people who were there.  It sounds like me and singing.  Trying to learn from everyone around me, I would like to keep all my options open and not let singing get in my way.

So hopefully my schedule will still allow me to go to this audition.  It would be good experience, and you never know what you’ll get out of it!

Leave a Reply

