the journey to paid professional performing artist

I have people in the show I’m rehearsing for now telling me I’m crazy.  I’m going  to run myself ragged.  How do I fit everything in?  It’s because I’m trying to put myself out there and take every opportunity that comes my way.

I know that if I’m successful I won’t be able to do this.  But right now I have a day job that is thankfully sensitive to my desire to perform.  So I try to take everything that comes my way.

That resulted in the great singing audition I had a couple of weeks ago.

It also takes me to new places, like the DC Tap Festival.

Sometimes I drive a lot, or get up really early to get to places, but I know the experience will serve me and my resume.

Recently, I had another opportunity present itself when I got my headshots taken.  When Christopher heard that I was a dancer, ballet specifically, he suggested we do some artistic dance shots.  This turned out to be a great new experience!  These are the first photos where my dance position doesn’t matter.  That is kind of freeing. 

It’s taking a lot for me to do these new things, like Gloria in Bye Bye Birdie.  But each experience is showing me that I can be successful at new things.  That my training will get me through what is asked of me. 

That is confidence building if nothing else!

Want to see how Christopher edited this photo?  Click here…

Leave a Reply

