the journey to paid professional performing artist

On Monday I started working out normally for the first time since before Christmas.  I tried to not be too bad during the holidays, and successfully didn’t gain any weight.  But I didn’t lose any either.  So now’s the time to get going again.

Food wise, it should be easier now that the holiday is over.  Food shouldn’t be everywhere at my day job, which is what gets my into the most trouble.  I’ve made another adjustment to the lunch I bring myself as well.  Since my day job is at a desk and I’m not moving around a lot, I having been decreasing the carbs and increasing the produce.  I started eating a whole peanut butter sandwich, then went to half, and now I’m don’t bring one at all.  I’m bringing salad, more carrot sticks, and either a whole fresh fruit, like an apple, or canned fruit, which can be easier to get in the winter.  I might bring a granola bar or some other treat sometimes, but not most of the time.  I’d like to be able to eat more of my calories at night when I’m more active.

I do like buying my produce from local farmers markets when possible.  Living in the north, it can be difficult in the winter, so I just do the best I can.  I do it because I like to support local farmers.  It’s good to know where your food comes from.  It also cuts down on the amount of chemicals on the food since they don’t have to put things on them to preserve them.  There are lots of people who say to go totally organic, which won’t hurt you, that’s for sure (my friend Danyelle has a website showing a lot of the benefits).  But that’s easier to do depending on where you live.  It also can be very expensive.  So what I do instead is try to buy organic when it comes to the “dirty dozen,”  and at least buy local on everything.  It lessens the amount of chemicals, and is cheaper than organic or even grocery store produce.  It’s not always possible, but every bit counts.

Now to my fitness.  Monday I took the morning ballet class I like to take, and was able to do Pilates at night.  I walk 15 minutes to Pilates both ways.  However, this is probably the only Pilates class I’ll be able to take in January, as I’m rehearsing six days a week for Crazy for You.  So I think my schedule will look like this for January:

Monday: morning ballet (2 1/2 hours), evening rehearsal (3 1/2 hours)

Tuesday: only day without rehearsal, so my day off of dancing.  elliptical at lunch (20 minutes),  areobics (1 hour)

Wednesday: elliptical at lunch (20 minutes), evening rehearsal (3 1/2 hours)

Thursday: elliptical at lunch (20 minutes), evening rehearsal (3 1/2 hours)

Friday: elliptical at lunch (20 minutes), evening rehearsal (3 1/2 hours)

Saturday: rehearsal (3 to 8 hours)

Sunday: rehearsal (3 to 6 hours)

For me, I don’t know if this is enough activity to lose weight.  Sometimes rehearsing can be a lot of standing around.  I’m going to try to fit in some strength training in there somewhere, but I don’t think it will be consistent.  The show is in February, so I might be able to get to a better routine.  This would be where I like to be in order to gain technique and lose weight:

Monday: morning ballet (2 1/2 hours), walking to Pilates (30 minutes), evening Pilates (50 minutes)

Tuesday: elliptical or walking at lunch (20 minutes/30 minutes), evening ballet and jazz (3 1/2 hours), strength training (1/2 hour)

Wednesday: elliptical or walking at lunch (20 minutes/30 minutes), evening ballet (2 hours), jogging/walking (20-30 minutes)

Thursday: elliptical or walking at lunch (20 minutes/30 minutes), evening aerobics (1 hour), strength training (1/2 hour)

Friday: elliptical or walking at lunch (20 minutes/30 minutes), evening ballet (1 1/2 hours), evening walk (1/2 hour)

Saturday: morning aerobics (1 hour), afternoon ballet (1 1/2 hours)

Sunday: jogging/walking (20-30 minutes), strength training (1/2 hour)

Leave a Reply

