the journey to paid professional performing artist

Even if you’re auditioning for a ballet company, you don’t truly know what is going to be asked of you once you get into the studio.

Twyla Tharp and Mark Morris use jazzy and modern movement in their “ballets.”  I’ve been to cruise line auditions where they ask if you dance on pointe.  I’ve heard of Rockettes who perform all the Rockette numbers, and also dance in the ballet Nutcracker section of the show.  To make yourself marketable, so have to know as much as you can.

Any good dance school, even if it is a ballet conservatory, will have strong classes in jazz, tap and modern, and maybe even offer hip hop, ballroom, anything else to supplement your dance study.  Not only does this familiarize the dancer to these forms, it makes a dancer who is more willing to try new things.  We’ve all seen the girl in class who is too self-conscious to try something new.  She looks more the fool for making a big deal out of it than if she had just done it.

Of course, I have an example of where trying new things makes you better, but it’s along thread of experiences.  It begins with me going to a summer dance program that I thought was going to be ballet.  Toronto Dance Theatre is a modern group.  At first I was really nervous.  I had exposure to modern dance, but in the context of a ballet conservatory program.  This was the opposite.  We had ballet class, but in the context of supporting the modern dance.  It was only a two week program, and by the end I wasn’t totally comfortable with what I was doing, but at least I was doing it to the best of my ability and giving it my all.

The story continues with me taking a hip hop style jazz class.  I’m of the age where hip hop wasn’t around when I was young.  The frist time I tried it was after college, and I felt like a ballerina trying to do it.  But the class fit into my schedule, so I kept taking it.  Usually when you’re older you can get more afraid to try to new thing and hurt yourself or look stupid.  But I think I’ve gotten past that point to realize that if I want to make it as a dancer, I have to throw myself into everything 100%.  So I kept on with the hip hop.

That lead to a paying (for a while at least) job on a dance team.  Believe me, I am neither the hip hop or cheerleader type.  A friend of mine was leading the team and she convinced me to try out.  The team was an arena football team in its second season, so not a huge turnout at the audition.  So, for whatever reason, I did get on the team.  More dance that I’m not comfortable with!!!  But it wasn’t difficult at all, so all I had to get over was in my head.  If the pictures and videos have anything to say, I think I got over that.  And probably got better at hip hop sexy style as well.

While I prefer the glamorous Rockette style, they are a rare dance troupe to keep performing that way. 

me dancing badly (on purpose!) as Gloria

After the moves that the dance team had me doing, playing a sexy secretary in Bye Bye Birdie was nothing.  And now I’m a ditzy Follies Girl in Crazy for You.  Although not paying roles, they are paving the way, giving me great experiences and experience, so that hopefully I will be paid for being on stage someday.

The moral is, even if you are concentrating on being a ballerina, please take other forms of dance as well.  They can only help you.  And if you want to be anything other than a ballet dance, please take ballet.  You’ve heard that it is the basis of all dance.  It’s true.  More on that later, I’m sure…

Leave a Reply

