the journey to paid professional performing artist

acting

Isn't the fur even close to my hair color? All I would need is a perm 🙂

I find something always comes along to push me in a new direction.  This time it’s a play called Sylvia.

I know, how could I stay away?

Little Theater of Mechanicsburg is putting it on.  There was an informational meeting Monday night to learn about it.  I’m not sure how it will all work out, since I’m teaching a class Tuesday nights and there is rehearsal every Tuesday night.  So I’m going to have to do some finangling before the audition to see how everything can fit.

It sounds like a hilarious show!  Here is the Wikipedia entry for it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sylvia_(play), and here is the review of it when it was originally done in NYC: http://theater.nytimes.com/mem/theater/treview.html?res=990CEFD9103FF937A15756C0A963958260.

In short, it is a tail of man, wife and dog.  In case you didn’t click the links yet, Sylvia is a labradoodle.  And anyone who has ever owned a dog will know the craziness that can ensue when said dog is personified, as dog owners are apt to do.

At first I was drawn because of the name.  Sure, there’s a ballet called Sylvia as well, but I think the chances of me performing in that ballet are slim.  To be able to play in a show bearing your name is cool.  And with a name like mine, I never thought I’d be able to.

And then I started reading up about it.  It’s a modern-day comedy and sounds like a lot of fun.  The theater allowed me to borrow a copy of the play.  It is very funny.  And it would be a challenge for me.  Not only because of learning all the lines, but because the dog (which is the part I would want of course, bearing my name) can be crude and fowl-mouthed.  Which isn’t me.  But then again, Gloria in Bye Bye Birdie wasn’t me either, and I had great fun with that.  If you don’t try new things you’ll never grow, right?

They are just going to have us read for the audition.  This usually would put me into a panic, but something wonderful happened that I think might have gotten me over it.  There was a man there who couldn’t make it to the audition, so he was going to read for them right then, and asked if I would read opposite so he had someone to act off of.  Just making me do it without be able to think about it is the best.  It really wasn’t that bad, and even kind of fun.  I’m hoping to get into this play to get more acting experience so that the reading parts of auditions aren’t so frightening.

Arranging my life is something that is getting to be more and more of a challenge for me.  This upcoming weekend for example.  There is no way I’m going to be able to do everything available for me to do.  Little old Harrisburg sure does have a lot going on theater wise!  I have the Gretna call backs.  I would like to audition for Theatre Harrisburg’s Gypsy, Fishing Creek dinner theater’s Meet me in St. Louis, and Sylvia.  But everything is overlapping, auditions and performances, so I don’t think there is a way I can do it all.  My fear is that I won’t get what I audition for, and then since I can’t audition for something else, I’ll be left with a long span with no stage stuff going on.  Though I have agreed with my husband not to do any stage stuff in June, so that takes care of Gypsy and Meet me in St. Louis.  I just have to let go and realize that I will never be able to play every show.  The best situation would be to do Sylvia, which is in May, and then Funny Girl for Gretna in July.

So if everything in my life arranges itself correctly, I’ll be auditioning for the role of Sylvia in Sylvia.  We’ll see how this all goes!

If I don’t get in I think I have to at least go and see the show…

Leave a Reply

