the journey to paid professional performing artist

hair change

No, I didn’t sleep in curlers like I usually do.  I actually permed my hair!

I did it for the part of “Sylvia” in the play Sylvia.

Truth be told, I’ve been thinking about doing it for a while.  I’ve just never had the courage to do it, since it is so permanent.  I’ve also been told horror stories of perm outcomes, but those have been all from people who had it done in the ’80s.  So when the director of Sylvia dais she wanted Sylvia to have curly hair, that was just the push I needed to perm my hair.

I think the result is wonderful!

I haven’t had the style for long, but supposedly it will make it easier to style as well.  It should stay where I put it.  That will be novel for me, as normally my hair likes to do what it likes to do and is very difficult to do anything else.  Even if I sleep in curlers, it’s different each time I do it.

And then there is the fact that in Sylvia my hair needs to change, from scraggly, to nice, to an elegant updo, and back to scraggly.  Without the perm the curl would never hold through that.  Considering that I could see the curl even in my wet hair, and that it still had curl after sleeping on it, I think the permed hair will do quite well.

It’s not crispy, I’m using Garnier products for over-dry hair and curly hair.  And it hasn’t broken yet, so I think I’m in good shape.  Follow my evolution with this hairstyle in my photoblog 30daysofperm.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

