the journey to paid professional performing artist

Me as Sylvia in "Sylvia"

When you live in a place that offers you many opportunities, how do you pick?

My strategy so far is to audition for all the shows I’m interested in when I’m free.  I do the shows I’m cast in, while not worrying about what’s next until that show is over.  So far this has worked.  Even when I audition for more than one thing in a short period of time, I’ve only been cast in one thing at a time.

This is changing for me.  Community theater is still my life, as the professional work isn’t auditioning their seasons until the new year.  And since community theater is constantly auditioning, there is always something to look forward to.

I am currently rehearsing for Zombie Prom at Little Theater of Mechanicsburg, which will be performing the first three weekends in September.  LTM happens to be presenting a play, The Uninvited, in October.  It sounds fun, the director is a friend of mine, and it is a drama.  Up until now all I’ve done are comedies, so this will look really good on my resume.  So I auditioned and got in, and the part I wanted that will let me grow as an actress to boot!

I don’t know if I’ve even done two different shows in subsequent months.  And I will be rehearsing one show while performing in another.  This will be very interesting…

It has also forced me to look at my strategy.  Since these shows were at the same theater, it was very easy for me to know about it and audition for it.  I’m going to have to see how this overlap works, to see if it will work in the future. 

The only other time I auditioned while rehearsing was early this year when the professional companies were auditioning.  I had been keeping an eye on those opportunities for a long time and didn’t want to give them up.  Usually I’m a supporter of doing every audition you can, but I think I’m going to miss the Cats audition.  It makes me sad because I love that show.  But I’ve found out it’s not paying, and it runs until December 23.  With shows in September and October, and then the run cutting into possible holiday time, without it being paid I don’t think it’s worth it to even try.  It’s also an hour away from me, so it just doesn’t make sense.  I don’t think I’ve ever had to think so much about whether to do an audition or not.  This is a good thing?!?

However, I think after The Uninvited I will take a break.  Early new year is when the professional groups audition, so it will be nice to have time open for that.  Last year I was rehearsing a show over Christmas and that new year time, so it was hard to juggle.  Then there is a Theatre Harrisburg show I will audition for in February I think.  It’s again not a comedy, and I worked with the choreographer in Crazy for You.  That will keep me working through June.

Wow, that’s planning ahead.  But it feels nice to have a plan and know what I’m doing in the future.  Of course, you never know when new auditions will be called, so I still have to keep my ear to the ground!

Leave a Reply

